513 Suchergebnisse
Preis:

Sortierung:

The Year of the Runaways

Taschenbuch Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - The heart-stopping new book from one of Granta's Best of British Novelists 2013 Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2015 'A brilliant and beautiful novel' Kamila Shamsie, Guardian The Year of the Runaways tells of the bold dreams and daily struggles of an unlikely family thrown together by circumstance. Thirteen young men live in a house in Sheffield, each in flight from India and in desperate search of a new life. Tarlochan, a former rickshaw driver, will say nothing about his past in Bihar and Avtar has a secret that binds him to protect the choatic Randeep. Randeep, in turn, has a visa-wife in a flat on the other side of town: a clever, devout woman whose cupboards are full of her husband's clothes, in case the immigration men surprise her with a call. Sweeping between India and England, and between childhood and the present day, Sunjeev Sahota's generous, unforgettable novel is - as with Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance - a story of dignity in the face of adversity and the ultimate triumph of the human spirit.

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

SOUTHERN CROSS THE DOG

Taschenbuch Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng leads the new generation of great American novelists.

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

The Night Before Christmas (Book & CD)

Taschenbuch Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - Clement C. Moore's much-loved classic Christmas poem The Night Before Christmas is brought to life in this gorgeous picture book, which includes a three song CD recorded by award-winning performers Peter, Paul and Mary. The magical artwork by Eric Puybaret is sure to bring visions of sugarplums to everyone's head. With a fabulous foiled cover, this is the perfect Christmas present for any child.

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

The Year of the Runaways

Jahr
2015

Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - The heart-stopping new book from one of Granta's Best of British Novelists 2013 Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2015 'A brilliant and beautiful novel' Kamila Shamsie, Guardian The Year of the Runaways tells of the bold dreams and daily struggles of an unlikely family thrown together by circumstance. Thirteen young men live in a house in Sheffield, each in flight from India and in desperate search of a new life. Tarlochan, a former rickshaw driver, will say nothing about his past in Bihar; and Avtar has a secret that binds him to protect the choatic Randeep. Randeep, in turn, has a visa-wife in a flat on the other side of town: a clever, devout woman whose cupboards are full of her husband's clothes, in case the immigration men surprise her with a call. Sweeping between India and England, and between childhood and the present day, Sunjeev Sahota's generous, unforgettable novel is - as with Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance - a story of dignity in the face of adversity and the ultimate triumph of the human spirit. 467 pp. Englisch

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

SOUTHERN CROSS THE DOG

Jahr
2013

Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng leads the new generation of great American novelists. 324 pp. Englisch

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

The Night Before Christmas (Book & CD)

Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - Clement C. Moore's much-loved classic Christmas poem The Night Before Christmas is brought to life in this gorgeous picture book, which includes a three song CD recorded by award-winning performers Peter, Paul and Mary. The magical artwork by Eric Puybaret is sure to bring visions of sugarplums to everyone's head. With a fabulous foiled cover, this is the perfect Christmas present for any child. 0 pp. Englisch

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

The Year of the Runaways

Jahr
2015

Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - The heart-stopping new book from one of Granta's Best of British Novelists 2013 Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2015 'A brilliant and beautiful novel' Kamila Shamsie, Guardian The Year of the Runaways tells of the bold dreams and daily struggles of an unlikely family thrown together by circumstance. Thirteen young men live in a house in Sheffield, each in flight from India and in desperate search of a new life. Tarlochan, a former rickshaw driver, will say nothing about his past in Bihar; and Avtar has a secret that binds him to protect the choatic Randeep. Randeep, in turn, has a visa-wife in a flat on the other side of town: a clever, devout woman whose cupboards are full of her husband's clothes, in case the immigration men surprise her with a call. Sweeping between India and England, and between childhood and the present day, Sunjeev Sahota's generous, unforgettable novel is - as with Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance - a story of dignity in the face of adversity and the ultimate triumph of the human spirit. 467 pp. Englisch

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

SOUTHERN CROSS THE DOG

Jahr
2013

Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng leads the new generation of great American novelists. 324 pp. Englisch

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

The Night Before Christmas (Book & CD)

Gebraucht - Sehr gut Leichte Lagerspuren - Clement C. Moore's much-loved classic Christmas poem The Night Before Christmas is brought to life in this gorgeous picture book, which includes a three song CD recorded by award-winning performers Peter, Paul and Mary. The magical artwork by Eric Puybaret is sure to bring visions of sugarplums to everyone's head. With a fabulous foiled cover, this is the perfect Christmas present for any child. 0 pp. Englisch

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 1,53 € + 0,00 € Versand

Whiteout

Jahr
2005

Taschenbuch A bio-thriller taking place over a wintry Christmas holiday in northern Scotland and well larded with family drama. Toni Gallo is the driven head of security for Oxenford Medical (aka the Kremlin), a research facility working on a cure for Madoba-2, an especially virulent strain of Ebola. She also has a running feud with her ex, a local cop, and is pestered by the attentions of newsman Carl. But she really wants to be with her widower boss, Stanley, whose daughter Olga's husband, Hugo, is paying unwelcome attention to his sister-in-law, Miranda, herself in uneasy love with a milquetoast boyfriend, Ned, whose daughter, Sophie, is the object of young Craig's budding affections. It is not until midnight on Christmas Eve that all this soap is rinsed away, and the plot kicks into high gear, as a band of desperate, violent thieves, led by Stanley's wastrel son, Kit, lay siege to the well-defended Kremlin in the midst of a terrible blizzard. From then on, things go suddenly, frightfully wrong

altersbedingte Bräunung der Seiten

Gesamtpreis

  • Preis + Versand 0,33 € + 1,79 € Versand